I’m currently listening to Mariah Carey (Holiday) Pandora station. It’s the bomb and you should check it out! I discovered that I can’t listen to Christmas music on the way to work. It was making me sleepy at the wheel! So, blaring rap in the morning is my wake-up call for the day. I’m awake enough for the X-mas jams on the way home, though. πŸ™‚

Wow, so this post is definitely not about time-of-the-day music preferences. It’s about strength training! I recently (as in this Monday), started a new program. I was doing CrossFit a few months ago and after that I switched to light toning. I’m going for something in between those styles this time around. I don’t think I’ll ever plateau because I get bored with workouts so quickly. It’s a constant cycle for me! Some people are creatures of habit and stick with the same thing, which I totally get and I think anything is good as long as you’re moving around.

I decided to do this program: The Ultimate Female Training Guide. Note: I am not following the nutrition plans or supplement recommendations. I just stick to whole foods that are fresh and organic when possible. I’ve found that dietary restrictions like that are just a recipe for crashing and burning. I’ll post about my thoughts on that some other time! Gosh, I can’t stay on track here.

I like the structure of the program and I’m doing the HIIT workouts on the allotted days. It has a whopping three rest days worked into the schedule. My plan is to walk/yoga/bike/maybe light run on those days. Or maybe even just completely relax on one of them. I’ll just play it by ear and see how I’m feeling throughout the week.

Here’s the first four weeks (via Simply Shredded):

workout

The workouts switch every four weeks. Check out the guide linked above for more info! I really like it so far. My schedule is pretty busy right now, so it allows me to maximize my workout time, which I love!

Time to go watch some Modern Family! πŸ™‚ Can’t believe tomorrow is already Thursday. Have a good one!

